Help with charging batteries plz

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sweetlou069

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hi I'm new to nitro rc cars i need to charge the batteries for the servos but i dont no how long , same for the glow plug , servo battery are 1700 mah 6v ni mj rx battery n the charger i use for it is a acdc adapter direct plug in input 120v 60hz 1.5w output 6 vdc 100ma but theres a light on it n when i plug the battery it turn in ( does it mean when battery is fully charge light turns off ?)
Go plug is ni cd sc 1600mah 1.2v charger input ac 110v 120v 60hz output dc 1.25v 170 ma ( again this one hase a light) how long do they take to charge n will the light turn off when fully charged thx

The rule of thumb I use for rx batteries is charge 1 watt per 1000 mah. So 1700 mah would charge at a rate of 1.7w,
What model of charger are you using? Sounds like it may have an automatic shut off but don't rely solely on the auto shut off. Check your batteries frequently while charging, its normal for batteries to be warm while charging but not hot. Unplug your charger immediately if your batteries are hot in your hand. I think my batteries take about 30 minutes at the most after initial charge.

Glo plug igniters, if you have a 1600 mah battery you should be charging at about 160 mA

Your charger should get you by but a variable rate charger will get you charged much quicker.

Last edited: