Help: Under $200 1/10th Nitro off-road Challenge.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonoPorter

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi Everyone I need help, I’ve been challenged to participate in a race with a 1/10th scale Nitro RC on an off-road track. I am completely new to this and I am starting from scratch. My Budget is a maximum of $200 set by the race organizer. The race is several months out so I’ve got time to learn what I need to learn. I’ve already been reading through all the noob guides on this site. What I need is recommendations on what I should buy. I like the Idea of buying a RTR though I’ve seen nothing but bad things said about those. But I’m not afraid of assembling one, just need clear instructions. What I’m looking for most is a durable vehicle that will survive almost anything I can throw at it. If they made a 1/10th RC nitro tank made by Toyota I would get that. Preferably I would like to spend less than the max but not at the expense of getting something that will break easily. So guys any advice? What brand, models, parts, and stores do you recommend? What would you build with this budget for this?

Does it have to be nitro powered? Going to be hard to hit your $200 mark and stay quality unless you go used.

Sent from my SCH-R720 using Tapatalk 2

$200 isn't gonna cut it buying new and quality. Stay away from the off brand rc's. They'll only cost you grey hairs and a bad experience. Talk everybody into going electric and pick up some short coarse trucks to race.

i used to do a LOT of 1:1 car racing. only one thing is sure, there is ALLWAYS someone faster. and dont even think about it if you are not in you element.