Help! Strange Cutout issues on Speed Build!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dhbleacher

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
  2. Boating
I am relatively new to speed builds for electric rc cars. The fastest I have gone is 62mph with a tenth scale truck. Anyway I am working on an 82mph (calculated) speed build with my A959B 1/18th scale car. I have done a complete aluminum, carbon fiber, and foam tire rebuild and upgraded the original brushed electronics over to a Traxxas VXL-3s esc, 3500kv brushes motor, and a 3s, 120C discharge, 1500mah battery to run it. However, when I actually go to drive the car it will cut out in 2 minutes and won't even reach anywhere near its full speed. When I test rev it in the air it seems to work fine, but for whatever reason when I go to drive it has those weird issues. My guess is either the battery discharge or mah isn't sufficient enough, or the vxl3s esc isn't capable of what I'm trying to put it through. Any feedback would be very much appreciated. Thanks! 🚗 🚘 🏎

20230408_202836.jpg

20230408_202841.jpg

Not sure about this esc but I have one or two that will shut off if I don't have it set for Lipo and is in NiMH mode.

Not sure about this esc but I have one or two that will shut off if I don't have it set for Lipo and is in NiMH mode.
I double checked to make sure its in lipo mode. I think it was but I reaffirmed it. I'll charge my batteries up and take it out for a run just to double check.

Buy a better ESC and motor