Demystifying Nitro RC Electronics - Help and advice if you can please all

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RicoBanderez

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi all,
I'm having a bit of a hard time at the moment understanding the intricate details of the electronics. I'm new to RC and I've not bought anything yet but if possible I'd like to try to make the right purchases. I'm setting out to build a kit. I've recently purchased a Losi 8ight 4.0 kit. I'm trying to keep my total spend at £800 and I've spent half of that on the kit.

So here's my plan regarding radio kit and servos:
Absima CR3P AFHDS 2.4GHz 3 Channel Radio System w/ receiver
Savox SC-1258 Coreless Digital Servo (High Speed) - Speed (sec/60°) 6.0V: 0.08 / Torque (kg/cm) 6.0V: 12.0
Savox SC-1256 Coreless Digital Servo (High Torque) - Speed (sec/60°) 6.0V: 0.15 / Torque (Kg.cm) 6.0V: 20.0
LRP LiPo 2200 RXPack small Hump (RX only) 7.4V

So, 1st thing here is that I would like to use the battery as it's the right size for the radio tray on the TLR 8ight 4.0 so I'm not deliberating as to whether to use a regulator OR whether to spend a bit more money on servos that can handle the higher voltage.

1st question - what would the masses do? Use a regulator or upgrade servos? Are the servos I've chosen powerful / fast enough anyway or would higher toque /speed (and therefore voltage) be recommended anyway?

My comment - I'm a bit anal and using a regulator means I have to find space for something that's not been pre-allocated. it also means extra wiring, extra weight … perhaps some form of additional fixing which might make routing maintenance a bit more tricky .. BUT … I don't know and have no prior experience so wanted to know from you guys.