Clutch Mystery

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Italianbonez718

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
i have (from what i was told) a old RC10gt. it was a gift from a friend many years ago and I'm just getting into it now. the other day i had it running and all of a sudden would not accelerate anymore. what i saw was the spur gear stopped and the bell housing not moving when i tried to make it accelerate and also a clacking noise on the initial push to accelerate. my first thought was the clutch was bad so i took it apart and attached the picture of what i found EXACTLY as i found it. there were no springs and its boggling my mind to how this thing is supposed to work because the top of the shoes and the inside edge of the bell housing are SMOOTH.

does it look like i need a new clutch? bell housing? has anyone ever heard of a clutch with no springs on a nitro car?

btw i know my spur gear is FRIED and will be getting a new one and aligning it properly.

thanks guys IMAG1734.jpg
IMAG1734.jpg
IMAG1736.jpg

i forgot to add that when i pull the starter the motor turns over and the flywheel moves and is not free of the shaft.

How do the clutch springs look? I would try sanding inside the bell and maybe replacing shoes and springs.

Looks like someone has cut the shoes down by about 50%

when i opened it up there were no clutch springs....why would someone cut the shoes down? i thought they looked really small but wasn't sure if it was suposed to be like that.