Beginner question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevhall2

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Sorry for the basic question but though I would check before starting to adjust from factory settings when I have no experience.

I have a RTR Hyper 7 black ed (or my son does). Initial start was easy and the idle appeares OK with no forward movement. On the 2nd start It began to have a small amount of pull at idle which increased on the 3rd start to moving fairly slowly with no throttle.

Trimming the throttle made no difference so assume I need to check idle gap is correct (1mm?) and try again. If still hapens adjust low speed needle. Is this correct?

One other clarification please. I've no idea beyond looking at utube as the instructions were none existant. The carb is a slide type but besides the idle screw, appears to have the usual HS and LS adjustmet and what I assume is a third adjustment on the end nearest to the HS adjuster. What is this for please?

Apologies again for the very basic questions and Happy New Year.

Kev.

Last edited:
Not trying to be rude but you need to start by reading all the stickies at the top of the pages and watching the videos contained there in. You will most likely find your answer there. You can also look up a video series on YouTube by a guy name squirrel. He has an entire video series on how to set up and tune your nitro engine.

I had a Problem with idle on my sh 18 on my Redcat tornado s30. No matter WHAT I did I WOULDN'T idle down. Aparrently my problem was I just needed to break in my engine some more. After I had about 10 tanks through it not including the 6 breakins, my Car started to idle down.

---------- Post added at 7:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 7:16 PM ----------