Battery Life & General query on using RC Cars

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karl Greenway

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I bought my son a Tamiya Rising Storm RC car a few years ago and we set it up to use soon after.. i was very surprised and disappointed by the very low use you get from the battery... We put it away and never used it again.. This weekend i got it back out to clean it up and post it on Ebay for sale as i thought we would never use it again.. I've just tested it, charged the battery and got it going in the garden.. Within a few minutes the controls became temperamental and i didn't really know what was happening, i suspect that the battery is out of charge.. I'm not very good at this... The big question is about the expectation around the battery and usage you get form a charge... Is this typical for RC cars or is there a technical issue with the car perhaps?...i'm not sure.. Anyway i want to sell it and am afraid that if i do sell it and it goes to a buyer that is as in the dark as me , i would feel guilty selling it.. For all i know this could be how it is with RC cars but i'm not sure.. the battery is a Powertech - 7.2v 2000MAH... Please help ...