Adding Electric

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b_balln4life

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I have been running a HPI Savage XL for 2 years now. Great truck for bashing and running on camping trips but I am wanting to get into racing a little bit. The only down side is we only have one track in the area and it is a indoor track so Nitro is out of question. Have been looking at Short Course trucks. Love my HPI but have been looking at Traxxas. Any and all help would be awesome.

Traxxas is not for racing. Unless you plan putting In a lot of money into it. Look at some trucks from team associated, losi, or even ofna. What's your budget?

The Associated SC10 RTR is probably the most affordable race-ready truck right now, as low as $200 for the 2WD "pro", about $275 for the 2WD "race spec" and $350 for a 4x4; just add battery pack and you're good to go.

If you're gonna get serious about racing, I'd suggest starting with a kit from the get-go so you can be sure it is assembled correctly and with the components you want. RTRs aren't bad, but sometimes things are not installed correctly or tightly, and if you're going to upgrade electronics, suspension, etc anyway, just as well do it straight away.

Are you thinking you want 2WD or 4WD? And is this track small/tight/technical or more open? With that information we can help you narrow the selection a bit. Lots of good options out there, but there are always pros and cons to each.

Thanks for all the help guys. My local track is pretty tight the long straight is about 100 feet. When I have been out there laps are 15-20 sec. I am not wanting to spend a lot on a truck. Was wanting to go with 4WD But if yo guys think 2WD might work better for me I will look into it.

Attachments

• Index.jpg