1/8th scale buggy has no power?!?!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chriswhyte

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I recently purchased an Acme Warrior 1/8th scale nitro buggy for my brother. We are total novices when it comes to rc cars. We broke the engine in no problems, but recently as the buggy was travelling, a chunk of gravel became wedged between the chassis and the flywheel, shutting the engine off instantly. We removed the gravel no problem, but as we went to use it yesterday the buggy has no power whatsoever. Don't get me wrong it DOES move, but hardly. Full throttle is more like quarter throttle:\. We are starting to lose hope and pass it off as us just not having a clue about these things. Could the gravel have caused these problems or could it be something else? If anyone has any ideas to save it from death that would be great!

Where EXACTLY did the gravel get stuck? It could have bent or twisted something causing a bind and resulting in the apparent loss of power. Also is there any more gravel stuck somewhere you did not notice? Like in a wheel? How does it run when on a stand? Does it run free and smooth or is it like the brakes are on? Also pictures or a video may help out here. Shaun

It's possible the clutch might've gotten damaged and that would result in a loss of power.

Agreeing with both these guys....

How does it sound? Does it sound "different" than before, or simply like it's going only 1/4 throttle.
Have your touched any of the controls on your transmitter?

Have you looked at your spur gear/clutch bell to ensure they not stripped?