HELP PLEASE!! Rustler 4x4 build problem..

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kizm808

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Aloha,

So I'm new to stadium trucks, I have always had a drift car. I bought a used rustler 4x4 roller. I put a motor that I had laying around in it, the esc motor combo is a castle sidewinder 3 esc with a castle 14 series 6900kv. I'm not sure if this motor will be good for this truck. The set up it's currently running on is as follows;

Stock 54T spur gear w/slipper clutch eliminator
17T pinion gear

When I had this motor set up in my sakura d5, it ran like a charm, very responsive and instant power to the wheels, but in the rustler it almost feels like it's too much power/rpms when I try to gas it at a stop, it seems like the motor struggles to push the car at a stop. I checked the pinion-spur mesh, I made sure it wasn't too tight or loose. Idk what is wrong, or is the motor not good for the rustler? Any advice would be appreciated. Again I'm new to any sort of trucks, any advice is good for me.

A 6900kv motor is not going to be good in a stadium truck. It won't have enough torque. You could go with a lot smaller pinion and a lot bigger spur if they are available, but I would replace the motor. Stock, the brushless VXL Rustler only has a 3500kv motor, which would be a more optimal kv for that vehicle.

Oh ok that's also what I was thinking, I was thinking of a smaller pinion but wouldn't that make my motor heat up faster? Also I forgot to mention but I'm only on a 2s currently and the esc over heats in the matter of minutes...the esc doesn't have a fan..yet

No, a smaller pinion will not make the motor heat up 'more' than it already is. It will be easier on the motor, hence less heat. But just lowering the pinion isn't going to cut it.