Tuning of engine...help..

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elmoredarren1

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
yes i am new to this but understand it on the engine on my revo stock engine. it runs well but does not idle very good and dies alot. seems to be hot when touch after running... I have the big knob on top to about 4-4.5 turns and the small one under that one is about 2 - 2.5 turns and the one on the side is about flush with the outer housing but just doesn't seem to idle right at all have to use remote to keep it from dying. i live in fort worth tx temp is usually around 65 to 85 outside if you need to know that to help me. also how many drops of airfilter oil on the airfilter for the correct amount. thank you for your help and hope you can help!!!!!!!!!
Thanks
darren

Welcome to RCNT. Stock settings is 4 turns out on the HSN and flush with the housing on the LSN. Please check you manual for those, I'm kinda confused when you talk about a third needle. These engines will be hot to the touch as they run about 220-280 degrees. How much fuel have you run through it and what kind of fuel are using (%)? During runs are you leaving a good smoke trail? If you are leaving good smoke, chances are it sounds as though your idle set screw is either not set right (which may be what your referring to) or you may be a little lean on the LSN. Check it and let us know

well i do have a nice bit of smoke and little fuel out tail pipe. on the hsn it is about 4 turns and the lsn is what i think is flush and what should the idle set screw be at and should there be smoke? i am also running 20%. and how do you know if your lean on the lsn and to make it richer is that turning it out past the housing or screwing it in more.. thanks for your help hope you can help me.