Slash question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kimmie28

RCTalk Addict
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
I just got a used vxl 3 slash 2wd. I love thing already but when I put a battery (2s) in it the motor hesitates with a grinding noise and then runs smoothly. I tore the tranny apart to see if it was binding in there but its smooth as silk. I hand turned the motors pinion and it seems clunky anyone know what would cause that?... is it a bad motor? I'm new to brushless so I'm lost. Thanks for the help

i think you are experiencing whats called cogging, a video would be easiest for use to confirm, i think that the VXLs are a 2 pole system, so the time that the shaft is halfway between poles the motor loses a bit of power before it reaches far enough to interact with the other pole. a 4 pole would probably fix it if that is in fact what is happening. another thing that may help is to drop a pinion gear tooth or two.

i think you are experiencing whats called cogging, a video would be easiest for use to confirm, i think that the VXLs are a 2 pole system, so the time that the shaft is halfway between poles the motor loses a bit of power before it reaches far enough to interact with the other pole. a 4 pole would probably fix it if that is in fact what is happening. another thing that may help is to drop a pinion gear tooth or two.
Thanks @D3MON. I'll give the pinion a try first. If that doesn't solve it then I'll look into a 4 pole motor.

it makes almost like a stuttering sound at low throttle correct?

the clicking is called non sensored stuttering . cause from a nonsensored esc with motor.not much you can do...sensored esc with motor and sensor wire(cable)thats your only true fix.