Slash 4x4 Ultimate dune bashing

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

teason2023

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to RC and got in middle east area Slash 4x4 Ultimate, as I wanted closed wheels and usually SC lighter and easier to run than e-revo, and other open wheel RC.
However, I've already cooked my Velineon 3500 by running:
1. without heatsink/fan motor (ESC with fan)
2. with sand/dust/dirt breathable mesh over chassis
3. with 3S battery
4. ambient at 33-35C
5. running half throttle Dune/Sand conditions with paddle tires

I currently have 2 issues:
1. It has too low airflow under mesh even without body. I think to stick new motor's fan to mesh to pull air from outside and create overpressure under it to push sand out. However I'm not sure will that traxxas 3456 fan push enough air in, so:
Can I hook PC's 12v high pressure motor to receiver? I have few from blade server chassis.

2. There is sand coming to middle chassis thru front driveshaft's hole to middle area, and since drive shaft spins fast, i thought to put some velcro tape around hole to reduce sand coming in, but it may catch and keep sand/rocks and overheat drive shaft.
Any ideas how to close it?

Please, share any comments on running slash in hot conditions and in desert sand.
photo_2023-05-06_11-34-36.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

Welcome to the forum. If you add the fan outside the chassis cover, I think will eventually destroy the fan, but it may work. But then you'll have to remove the fan to remove the cover. You would need a filter on the fan if you did that, at which point, you might as well just use the fan under the chassis cover.