Safe Motor temp??

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hulkmaxx

Wanna know my secrect. I'm always ANGRY!
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Okay guys I have a motor temp issue. Did some light trailing tonight in my yard on some pretty steep hills. I have noticed my motor is most definitely getting hot, after about 10 minutes or so I noticed a hot electronic smell coming from the rig no smoke or anything like that. I grabbed my temp gauge I use on the nitro's and temped the motor at the can in rear. I got a 230 degree reading which I know is way to hot. The ESC is staying cool as could be. I am still new to this electric stuff so I need some help here guys. This is on the rig UI installed the Gmade portals on. Could it be my gearing may be higher with these axles installed. It does seem to have a higher top speed then what it had before. I pulled the spur and checked for bent or binding in all the drive line and trans. Everything is spinning freely, nothing looks bent. I am running a 20c 5000 mah 2s Lipo same battery I run on my other scx10 with no temp problems. I have no idea how much run time is on this motor because I received the rig used. I am kinda at a loss of what to do here. The esc is a Novak, of some sort. The motor is an Atomik 35T, pinion is from my count an 18t and spur from my count is an 89t. I don't know if that's high gearing for a 35t motor or not. Like I said I think the Gmade axles might have put my gear ratio up some.

i would go to a 14 tooth......that should get you where you need to be.

Thanks man I found a 14 may order several different ones. Is the 48pitch pinion what I need right. So I'm taking it that what I have now is a pretty high gearing right?