Roto start port blocked by muffler am I missing something?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoobNitro

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi,
I just picked up a collection of Nitro cars and it seems as though the roto start port is thoroughly blocked by the muffler on one of them
Am I missing something? Is there another way I'd be able to start this engine?
The second one the port is partially blocked by the wheel but I guess it's ok to just push wheel out of the way with the shaft on this one? Thans so much for any help with this. I'm almost a complete novice with Nitro cars.
Photo May 30, 10 07 40 AM.jpg
Photo May 30, 10 07 45 AM.jpg

Welcome to the site. Hpi rs4 belt drive? If
It is, those parts are harder to get then the shaft version.

I would go this route, if they have it for your motor, I'm assuming is a 15fe.

https://sullivanproducts.com/sullivan-products-tiger-drive/

You can also go pull start. I've used hpi roto start, traxxas ez start, and pull start. Nothing beats the pull start and an igniter, imo.

Welcome aboard,

Chubaka once again nailed it.

Mind sharing what all models you picked up? If you need any ID'd, I can doooo

Thanks for the replies. I guess the thing is that the person who owned the car before must have been starting it as is somehow. I'd rather not put a pull start on it and would prefer to use what's already there I just am having trouble figuring out how he was starting the car. I can't ask them is it was at an estate sale.
And yes it is a belt drive. I don't have the experience to confirm motor type

I got 3 hpi bodies image attached.

One of them has a pull start that will not pull. seems to have a seized engine, any advice on possibly freeing that up would be much appreciated.