newbie problems

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tricky1400

RC Newbie
Reaction score
hi i am new to nitro radio control and hope someome can help me with a problem i have with my BSD nitro assult buggy .

i have just run it in and have run it with another couple of tanks of fuel and everything was going great . . . then tried to start it over the weekend and it revved really fast making all four wheels rotate .

i first tried to slow the idle with the idle screw , as i turned the idle screw anti clockwise the engine started to slow down , but as i kept turning the idle screw the engine cut out .

the car wouldnt start again until i returned the idle screw clockwise again , it then started but was revving high again so started to turn the idle screw out again and the same thing happened , engine cut out again .

the car will start and run but only if it revs high and the wheels turn .

i know that when i apply the brakes the carb has to be open at least 1mm to allow the engine to run but if i put the brakes on or put the car on the ground the engine stops

the mixture screw has been turned in half a turn per tank full while running in as per instructions and its at 2 and a half turns now , i have tried increasing this to 3 and 3 and a half but it doesn't make any difference

would really appreciate some help with this

thanks

Is the car new or used? Assuming the linkage and idle-stop is properly set (which is typically the main culprit in what you are describing), I'd say your LSN is too lean (it's idling high as it is starving for fuel). Richen it 1/8 - 1/4 turn and try it. Ideally you set your LSN first, then adjust the idle-stop....only if needed. If that does not fix it, check your clutch for a busted spring.

Last edited: