Newbie motor upgrade recommendations

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haggardblair

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hello all, like I said I'm a newbie so forgive me if I use any incorrect terminology. I have a team associated rc8.2e. a few upgraded shiny aluminum bits but for the must part it's stock.

I was thinking about upgrading the motor to make it a bit faster. The factory motor is a Reedy 1515sl 2000kv. Would anyone be able to make some recommendations on motors that would be a bit faster but wouldn't destroy the car... Or my bank account ;) .... I'm thinking about $150 price range.

Thanks for any input. Cheers

Speed comes from gearing also, depends on your goals. How fast are you looking for it to go? Racing or bashing? Sometimes going to a higher amp battery or more cells can squeak out more speed and power.

Thanks for the response, I'm definitely just blasting this thing around empty parking lots and some AZ deserts but no real racing. "I just want to go fast" -Ricky Bobby

So I did just order a 4s battery which I read was the highest my buggy can handle. (Currently have a 3s) But I had no idea that I could also just change gears to get more speed. That's an interesting prospect as I'm sure it's much less expensive than buying a motor.

If I started with gears is there a "ratio" that you'd recommend? Again sorry if I'm using incorrect terminology.

Thanks again for the insight.