Newbie electric R/C drift RTR kit?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

westie06516

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hey guys.

I've had nitro powered street cars in the past and have been out of the hobby for sometime. Recently I've really gotten into R/C drifting after seeing a R/C club do a demo in Englishtown New Jersey one weekend when I was drag racing.

So I have no knowledge of electric R/C, how to work on them, charge batteries faster, etc.

But I'm do drawn into the idea of R/C drifting and living in a dead end with no traffic gives me the opportunity to set up a course. So I started surfing the net and saw HPI has a Mustang drift kit, but it's a bit pricey. I stumbled upon this site, www.nitrorcx.com and found a 1/10 2.4Ghz Exceed RC Electric DriftStar RTR Drift Car for only $95.00.

Is anyone familiar with this brand? Are getting extra batteries easy to find, cheap, easy to work on, good at drifting, decent build quality? I'd like to hear any feedback, opinions, or suggestions.

I'm on a budget so please keep that in mind :\

Here is a link to this RTR drift car I'm interested in: http://www.nitrorcx.com/51c806-driftstar-lightblue-24ghz.html

The video looks like it's a fun car and looks like it runs decently, but I've never heard of this brand.

I would appreciate any input and feedback on this brand or any others that are affordable for a first time electric R/C drifter.

Thanks in advance!