New to nitro RC: looking for first car advice

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

erikthered

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to nitro RC and looking for some new car advice. I am looking for a 1/8 scale nitro 4x4 buggy for my children, preferably an RTR version so as to keep down the initial costs. The Losi 8IGHT RTR buggy has piqued my interest as an entry level car for my two kids. Any opinions on this car?

I am also looking at a Kyosho....specifically the Inferno MP9 TKi4 due to the readyset configuration, however; this car does not seem to be available anywhere for a reasonable pricepoint. I came across a brand new Inferno MP9 TKi3 on the big auction site; would this car be acceptable as an entry level "backyard basher" and for non-competitive racing etc.? Are upgrade parts still available if at some point I'd like to delve into hop ups?

Are there other 1/8 nitro 4x4 buggy makes/models out there in the readyset configuration that I should be looking at? I'd like to keep the pricepoint around $500 or so or less.

Thanks much for any/all advice.

The Kyosho Neo is around 500.
Thanks for the suggestion. I had come across the Neo RTR but it is listed as discontinued on the Kyosho site? Where might the Neo fall in terms of "competitiveness" out of the box relative to an MP9?

Does anyone have opinions on the Serpent Cobra buggy rtr? It comes with a Novarossi engine.
Thanks all.

Welcome in. Is your mind set on nitro? Electric has really came a long way over the years and faster and some what cheaper to maintain, will unless you bash hard.. ;)