Need help identifing this buggy

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Enuahs

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hey people!
I am new to the hobby of Nitro RC and a buddy of mine recently came across this car. Since I love to tinker and am really enjoying my RC's I said I would fix it up for him.
The problem is I don't have any idea who the manufacturer is. I know it is not a traxxas and I was leaning to HPI or Losi but I can find anything similar. Any help would be appreciated.

20141002_170629.jpg

20141002_170639.jpg

20141002_195806.jpg

20141002_195721.jpg

It looks like an Duratrax Axis, It's been discontinued for a long time so you're going to have hard time finding parts for it! It shares 90% of it's parts with a Duratrax Nitro Quake, something to keep in mind when your searching for parts.

BTW that doesn't look like the stock engine, does it have any writing on it?

I was afraid I would have trouble finding parts. For the most part it is in solid shape just poorly maintained. Thanks for the info on the Nitro Quake that should help alot.
The engine is a 3.5 TORO

Is it worth fixing or should i just part it out?

Last edited:
1000% duratrax axis, GREAT basher buggy, parts a a PITA to get. the Axis buggy i just sold had the same engine

Id sell it and get something newer or at least with more available parts :)

Double check the letters on the engine, is it Toro or Torq? I had the nitro quake with the Torq 21 but the head was black.

If all it needs is a little TLC I would get it running then sell it, unless you want to put it on a shelf.

Thanks everyone. Since I am doing this rebuild for a friend I am going to tear it down and see what we see. I would love to see it running again.