mamba max not working with NIMH

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metallicats33

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I have a mamba max esc running a 5700kv mamba motor. I've only used 2s lipos with it until recently. I tried to run it with a 7cell NIMH 4600mah, everything seemed fine until I tried to give it full throttle. The car stopped. I could still give it throttle but it would only go about a foot and then stop. I know the batteries are fine because I run them in my slash with the VXL system all the time. I checked all the settings through castle link and don't really see what i'm missing. Does anyone have any tips?

None of my mamba or sidewinder systems have ever worked right with a nimh pack, these systems demand more power than those packs can deliver.

The Mamba Max ESC needs more current out than the average NiMH pack can supply. You can try to find a pack with a higher burst output capacity but I think by then it would be better to use a LiPo pack.

I run Nimh's in my 5700 all the time, Did you make sure and turn off the LVC in castle link? Also on the ESC are the indicator lights flashing and if so which ones?

I run Nimh's in my 5700 all the time, Did you make sure and turn off the LVC in castle link? Also on the ESC are the indicator lights flashing and if so which ones?

LVC is set at auto. and the Green light is the only one that flashes

The lvc set to auto is probably the problem. Shut it off and try again. Just remember to turn it back on when you run a lipo.

The lvc set to auto is probably the problem. Shut it off and try again. Just remember to turn it back on when you run a lipo.