Loss of throttle control

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doniski

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I am new to this RC thing but am loving it. I inherited my sons kyosho 3.0 and while driving it I lose control of the throttle and then it revs high and goes like heck till it hits something. I have no idea what is causing it. I can turn off the buggy and turn it back on and throttle response is working again. Is the a servo? am I losing radio signal? All I know is I have broken a couple things already when I lose control. Any help would be appreciated. I am planning on swapping servos soon as a first step. Rather lose steering than throttle.

Nitro or electric? My old T-Maxx nitro classic got out of radio range and ran away. Check the controller batteries and replace. (frequently)

Nitro or electric? My old T-Maxx nitro classic got out of radio range and ran away. Check the controller batteries and replace. (frequently)
nitro, it can be sitting right next to me like even when i am trying to start it. fresh batteries

Must be throttle servo. A ghetto trick is to apply a compression spring on the servo arm to close the throttle as a fail safe, when not being pulled open. May put extra strain on the servo though.

Here's the throttle return on an HPI 4.6. Shouldn't be without one. More than just ghetto but a must back up system.

full

I'm still a pretty smart imbecile, right? It must have been funny watching me run after my T-Maxx that was ghost riding across the park, until it roped a chain link fence.