Lipo charging?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hulkmaxx

Wanna know my secrect. I'm always ANGRY!
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok guys maybe a dumb question here but I'm still learning this lipo stuff. Anyhow I just bought a new 8000mah 2s lipo. My question is my charger only goes to 5000 mah charge setting. Even though I am seeing the full 7.4volt charge am I getting my mah capacity or is there something else I should do to charge it? When I charge my 5000mah it always says at capacity. But not on the 8000mah.

It sounds like you're confusing charge rate on the charger with the capacity. Most LiPo capable chargers don't overcharge the batteries, so you should be fine letting the battery charge through the full cycle.

Hamz is right but you could have a mAh charging cap on your charger set to 5000mAh too. Is it actually stopping the charge cycle when it gets to 5000mAh or is the counter just stopping but the charge cycle is still running?

I have my Mah setting as far as it goes which is 5000mah or 5.0. My other lipo is only a 5000mah near end of charge cycle it always says at capacity on the 5000mah battery then full charge and alarms letting me know battery is full charged. With the 8000mah battery it goes through the charging cycle and alarms full charge but never flash's at capacity before alarming full charge. They both register a full voltage charge per cell though. Man this lipo stuff is kinda confusing some times and they say nitro is hard LOL! Anyhow thanks for the help guys. It does take longer for the bigger Mah battery to charge so it is probably getting a full charge.