Lipo batteries storage (ammo box)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nickpool

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to batteries and I want a safe place to store them so I can sleep peacefully lol.
I have seen some youtube videos where they use an ammunition box, the typical metallic green one.

I have wanted an ammo box for a long time since I like them, so now I have two reasons to buy one.

Basically I have a question that may seem stupid: hermetic closure or normal closure (not hermetic)?

On the one hand it seems better and more secure that it be hermetic, but could this cause the accumulation of smoke and gases in the box and an explosion, in case the battery burns?

Thanks have a good day!

I used to keep the gasket on my ammo boxes but not anymore. It has been pointed out that if there’s a catastrophic failure inside an airtight sealed ammo box then it potentially becomes a bomb 💣.

remove top seal and drill a vent hole in ammo box.here is my ammo box with a few extras.

lipo box.jpg

charge box open.jpg

lipo charge box.JPG

Agree. Drill a vent hole in the ammo can. That being said, LiPos are really only dangerous when they are in use or being charged. Once theyve been storage charged and theyve sat for a couple hours stably then they are relatively benign. Not saying dont store them in an ammo can if it makes you feel better but mainly you want to make sure you're charging/discharging them in the ammo can.

I bought an inexpensive metal fireplace ash can. The lid is fairly loose fitting. Enough that I can close it on the charger's power cord.

I don't know about ammo boxes but I use fireproof lipo bags for storing. And little charging bags for charging.