I'm back, with a cogging Xmaxx

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

2revo1maxx

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Good morning all. I have an 8s Xmaxx that I've been keeping around for about 6 years. I noticed from day one it likes to stutter or "cog" whenever I nail the throttle. I've never been able to figure it out, but now since it's being used it's gotten really bad. I'm suspecting a motor issue, but don't wanna throw money away either.
Thanks

Stock gearing?
Stock size tires?
I like to throw junk together as a science experiment and have been able to cure cogging by changing gearing. Most of the time I could get away with a smaller pinion gear change. This wreck had a 6s Kraton motor/esc in it and clogged horribly trying to launch it. It was almost perfect with a drop of 5 teeth on the pinion. It destroyed itself in a few months but it was fun.
20210816_073845.jpg

Last edited:
Stock gearing?
Stock size tires?
I like to throw junk together as a science experiment and have been able to cure cogging by changing gearing. Most of the time I could get away with a smaller pinion gear change. This wreck had a 6s Kraton motor/esc in it and clogged horribly trying to launch it. It was almost perfect with a drop of 5 teeth on the pinion. It destroyed itself in a few months but it was fun.
View attachment 147889
It's 100% stock, but I could use new batteries. They're stock Traxxas 6700's, but it's been doing this all along. Only yesterday it started doing it really bad. So bad I could barely drive it. It seems to get better after everything warms up.