idle screw and hsn tuning

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwilson

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi guys I know u must get this question all the time but I having real trouble tuning my gx15 engine can anyone give me a easy tuning guide please

You cannot go wrong with what Greywolf linked. I performance tuned my tmaxx yesterday using this guide and it is running real good.

I'm pretty new to this nitro, been into it for a few months. But, even in this short amount of time I have picked up a few tricks.

One thing that helped me understand tuning a little better is this...
When I read about the HSN, it is most described as, the HSN meters the fuel at high speeds. Which it true, but I like to look at it differently. As the HSN is controlling ALL the fuel entering the carb and the the LSN controls the amount entering the motor at an idle/low speed.

I say this because when I was new, desperately trying to tune my .15 pro, if it seemed like it was rich when idling. I would go straight to the lsn, Because it meters idle/low speed right? But in fact it was probably the hsn that needed leaning.

This is just an example, I'm not saying that if your idle is rich to lean out your hsn. Again I'm new and I might totally have it a$$-backwards but it makes sense to me.

Yer I'm finding mines ilding really high and trys to run off but theres no top end power its really boggy

Sounds like your LSN is too lean and your HSN is too rich. You should never adjust the HSN to set the idle, if you lean it to the point that it has any effect on the idle your mid and high end will be dangerously lean.