how long to glow plugs last

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blurman18

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
my glow plugs are not coming in for a week but my fuel is coming in this Friday and i don't know if i should start breaking in my nitro engine because i am afraid that the plug will go bad in the middle of the breaking in process
(5 tanks) and it will leave me stuck with out a glow plug and a half broken in nitro engine... which leads me to my second question will letting a half broken in engine sit for a while be bad for it? i am new to the nitro rc world and don't know a whole lot about this stuff so your answers are much appreciated

A glow plug should typically last long enough to do a break in. As for your second question. I honestly can't say that I know if it matters or not but I typically dont do my entire break in just one day. I dont believe it matter but someone may say I'm an idiot too....IDK...guess Ill find out when you do.

my plug lasted a few tanks past break in, just make sure you dont run it too lean and you should be right i guess...

I would say that most glowplugs should make a breakin but at the same time you should probably make sure you have spares just in case. If it sits for a couple days between tanks you should be fine.

the revo should of come with a spare one....

$5.00 a plug multiplied by the amount of revos sold since '04, I don't think Traxxas could stomach that kind of loss.

well mine came with one... and it was new wrapped and from the states.