How good do you have to be to race

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chrisprivate

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Just want everyone's opinions on how good you have to be to actually race these things mean I've never done it but I am thinking about it?

get track time is best advice.. you can be a total noob and its all about fun. they have races setup for rookies...just go do it

I would definitely be in contention for last place. It's all about the fun, go for it.

Just want everyone's opinions on how good you have to be to actually race these things mean I've never done it but I am thinking about it?
Look for a rookie class to get some experience. You dont have to be good just starting out, and noone expects you to be either. Everyone has to start somewhere. Another idea, although not as easy, see if anyone local has a backyard track, and see if they will let you join them when they run. A neighbor of mine set up a track in his yard just for new drivers to get used to it on, and he has open runs every saturday in the summer.

My grandson is 9 and he is mixing with the big boy's, obviously getting his butt handed to him, but the guys are all in to get him on board. If this race club is worth going to, the guys will be right there to help you get better. If they don't you are at the wrong place.

My grandson is 9 and he is mixing with the big boy's, obviously getting his butt handed to him, but the guys are all in to get him on board. If this race club is worth going to, the guys will be right there to help you get better. If they don't you are at the wrong place.