Hovercraft

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RiceLaxer06

RCTalk Champion
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
For a school project, my friends and i are building a hovercraft. Does anyone have any information on the subject that you can help us out with?

I started drawing up my own design on paint. The hover craft basicaly needs 2 motors, 1 for the air bag on the bottum and 1 to push it. Behind the pushing motor needs to be a rear flap to control the flow of the air in the direct you want would is powered by a servo. If there is an on-line disign that could help my project.

we were actually gonna mount two motors on the back. That would achieve the same thing but give u a little more steering control.

Two flaps? Two flaps is what I had on my design, it helps channel the air flow in to your direction and will work tons of alot beter then one flap.

because of motor limitations, we only have three for thrust and lift. So our design includes one heavily geared motor for thrust, and two motors powering two separate fans for forward thrust. We are basing our design off this
http://www.rc-cars-guide.com/rc-hovercraft.html

My friend has one and its very maneuverable

hey tell me how that goes I've always wanted to make one out of a lawnmower engine and power it by gas

haha too bad I'm limited to these little crappy electric motors

It would be badass if you gassed it up and stuff... made it fast and it could go on water and land, that would kick!