Hopped up, yet loose as a goose

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jorrob29

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Before you post hateful, biased stuff...I'm simply looking for advice. I put a hop up kit on my RCR lightning epx pro, and now EVERY SINGLE JOINT in the new aluminum parts are sloppy! I have heard of shims for wheel wobble. .. but alll of it has significantly more play now.. any ideas? I'm brand new to the hobby so go easy on me.
I did notice two TINY orings on my workbench after having removed the lower a arms up front. And COULD NOT figure out where they went. Helllp!

Last edited by a moderator:
You don't say what brand your hop ups are what parts you replaced or any other info so add some more info before you start telling us how to respond

The car: lightning epx pro by redcat racing.
The parts:redcat hop up kit MADE FOR the lightning epx cars, BY redcat. Has front lower and upper arms, front hub carriers & steering knuckles, rear lower and upper arms, rear hub carriers, aluminum body posts, i think thats all. Its this kit, but blue.

Another question, it came with the four turnbuckles u see in package, i mad the assumption all turnbuckles are the same, so used them as rear and front upper arms, should i have left the rears plastic, and put the turnbuckles on the front as tie-rods instead?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20200605-125519.png
    Screenshot_20200605-125519.png
    778.1 KB · Views: 80
Are they loose now after some time or are they loose immediately after install? If it's just after install, could just be due to lack of precision in the parts themselves.