Header heaters - useful tool or pointless purchase?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ptrthgr8

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi, all.

As I've been breaking in the .21 Dynamite engine on my new Losi 8IGHT buggy I've used my heat gun to get the engine up to the 200-220F range before starting and using it as needed while running to keep it there. But my heat gun uses a standard 120v household plug, so using it when out in the field isn't something I can do.

So, these 12v header warmers... are they useful? Or once the engine is broken in, does starting it cold not matter as much?

I'm still a nitro newbie, so I appreciate everyone's help thus far.

Cheers!

It will start cold.. just takes a little longer.. I use a little little touch if that cold out to help out with starting to get the fuel a little less jelly.. the heat helps with freeing up the nitro... here is a article about starting nitros.for ya bud...

"The Definitive 10 Step Guide On How To Start Your Nitro RC Car" https://www.nitrotek.co.uk/blog/201...step-guide-on-how-to-start-your-nitro-rc-car/
Sorry dam phone little lighter torch
Just don't hold it on motor move it back and forth not in one spot or a pencil one... yes the furl is flammable but I have never had any issues...
Here because I'm sure you like really a tourch.. and sure your new to nitro since your asking about this so here you go

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08L8D8RHB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_E4TX8KR343DXZZN6K8PG