Exhaust spitting oil @ me during break-in? Please help me I'm a Total newbie :(

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheSweeney

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hello there,
I've recently purchsed a 1/10 nitro buggy, I wont tell you the manufacturer for fear of discrimination LOL, but its got a .15CXP engine!!! You know what car I mean :(

Anyways The last time I touched an RC car was about 14 yeras ago and that was an even CHEAPER nikko electrtric jobby. Nitro cars are even more alien to me but I find them fascinating and I'm very keen to learn.

My 'problem' : I've just started running-in the engine, starting with heat-cycling as described in the "All Noobs Read This" thread.
I've got my HSN set at about 3-1/2 turns from fully closed. I've got the idle screw set so its just enough to keep it ticking over without cutting out.

the problem is that the exhaust is spitting a fair ammount of motor oil at me? Is this normal or have I got the mixture set at too rich??? is it another problem???

Do i have to adjust my LSN for breaking in? If so what should it be set to? Is the LSN the screw located in the centre of the throtle 'lever'. (the buggy's instructions are very vague on this).

Sorry if these seem like the usual ANNOYING noob questions using idiot laymans terms such as throttle lever lol
But I'd really appreciate some help on this before I continue Breaking-in or just breaking my new engine.
Feel free to point out any mistakes I'm already making and guide me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance,

TheSweeney.

Oh yeah.........I dont want any jokes about a scouser talking about a break-in! :boxing: :thumbsup: