Complete and Utter Newbie Advice

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Dean

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi,

Excuse my newness and apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place!

I've always had a yearning, from a very young age, to get into RC cars and now that my son is getting to a certain age I think this could be a great hobby for us both to share in.

Therefore I've been doing a lot of research into a good starter model that we can build from scratch and the Condor Nitro Self Build kit seems to be fit for purpose in that for a decent price you get everything you need in one box along with detailed instructions to assist the build. Couple of questions that I can't find an answer to anywhere though.
  • I have very little experience of the workings of an engine - would that be a disadvantage when going for a self build?
  • Are these kits really likely to be build and go? I'd envisaged that a lot of constant tuning would be required to get the most from an RC? My lack of mechanical knowledge I feel could therefore count against me.
  • Can anyone advise any good resources for reading up for newbies to give a good basic all round knowledge? This website has proved useful but I'm looking for a good central resource to provide as much general basic knowledge before I make a purchase
  • Oh and one final point - is Nitro a suitable point of entry or should I really be considering an alternate power source?
In addition if anyone has any further advice on the suitability of the kit I've chosen vs alternatives on the market it would be most appreciated. Please bear in mind that I don't want to spend the earth if for some unfortunate reason this doesn't turn out to be a hobby I persist with (although I hope not!) and my mechanical knowledge is basic at best.