Capra build advice

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrgoodwrench35

RCTalk Addict
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
Been playing with RC's for a long time but I'm new to crawlers. I recently purchased a TRX4 for the wife. She likes to play but doesn't really seem into bashing and high speed stuff so I figured a crawler would be more suited for her. She loves it and turns out, so do I so now I must have one of my own. I decided on the axial capra. The LHS had a great deal on a build kit and I couldn't resist.

I was hoping for some advice on what electronics to run. I've read that I'm limited to a 540 can motor and most of the info I've found is suggesting brushed? I thought that was old school tech?? All the bashers and such that I play with are running brushless systems and they seem to far out perform the brushed predecessors (I can almost hear you hardcore crawler guys laughing as you read this). Why brushed?

More throttle control and torque. you can set the esc to an extreme hill brake for holding power on off camber climbs or decents. In rock crawling its about control not speed. You can easily upgrade to the many brushless systems for crawlers. I have a trx4 defender I put a velenion system in just for kicks and giggles. However the trade off is that it now likes to roll over constantly. I'll be going back to a brushed system in it soon.

Hoping to get a Capra myself, was looking at the Holmes Hobbies brushed motors for a build or future upgrade. Here is a great video that John at HH did on the Capra build kit. Make sure you start a build thread, once you get rolling on the kit, I’d like to see it….