Battery Recommendation - Non-Racing

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lamelogin

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
I think I got the wrong battery, this thing seems like it's 5 times to small. I think it will work temporarly just to try things out after a new build, but I may want something larger? (currently: 2200mah, 50C 7.4V 16.28Wh). What is the "size" I should be searching for? Is there a name/type? Like "AA" battery?

My Experience: complete newbie
Car: RC10B74.1
Purpose: farting around at home (not racing)
ESC: EZRun Max10 G2 (80A)
Motor: Hobbywing 3652SD (3300kV)
Connection: XT60

battery.JPG

Last edited:
CHNL Racing
5200mah 120C 2s LiHV
You have a race buggy and not using race grade stuff, it might not work properly.
You need a hard case shorty pack. Most people use race packs with 5 mm bullet plugs. Either normal shorty or LCG shorty packs.
Other brands like Maclan, ProTek, SMC. All are good.
The pack you have right now has external wires. There is no space to route them. They might get ripped up my the center driveshaft and or center clipper. 2200mah is not enough. 5200 is a good starting point. Some use around 4600 batteries. I'd get the highest C pack out there. 120C is the norm.

That is a stick pack. Will not fit into a modern buggy battery tray

Well, you could make something something not race grade work, but it might not like fit properly, and you need to route your wires differently as you don't want them to get ripped up.
This might be the best bet? https://www.amainhobbies.com/reedy-...-30c-lipo-battery-7.4v-3000mah-asc758/p945353