Associated Pro SC10 Upgrades

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tn27

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Posted a few weeks ago about advice on which vehicle to buy and I bought a RTR Associated Pro Sc10. Came with a 3300mAh Reedy wolfpack battery and charger. I bought a Dynamite charger and a 5000 mAh 50C 2s battery at the hobby shop. Took it to the track last night and what a blast. Met a few cool guys. I was afraid of the serious guys who were going to be d***s about me not being able to drive and being in the way but the nice guys far outweighed the bad. Only got yelled at a few times haha. Like I said, I'm new to the racing thing and I'm looking for some help on some easy upgrades. I've been looking for aluminum shock caps that are bleed able, and last night I tried to mess with the camber but I decided to stop and wait till I could get more advice.

Few questions;

1.) Do you let the motor cool down between runs? I got maybe 25 minutes out of my 3300 and maybe 35 out of my 5000 but I doubt the 5000 was charged all the way. I put them in back to back and after the 5000 started to run low I realized I hadn't checked to see if the motor was too hot. It doesn't matter I guess because I wouldn't have known if it was too hot or not. Should I invest in one of those thermometer guns, and what do you guys look for in motor temps?

2.) I had to hit the jumps straight on. If I hit them coming out of a corner, the truck would kick the back end the opposite way and a few times I landed completely sideways. The rebound is obviously too quick, but does this mean I need softer springs or stiffer springs, and how do you guys set up the oil level on your shocks? More oil is stiffer? or less oil is stiffer?