4X4 opinion time.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biggman100

Hardcore RCTalk User
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Since I am starting completely over, I am looking for opinions on a 1/10 4X4 for heavy winter use. So far, I'm looking at the Slash, AE Pro4, and Arrma Senton, and, of the three, I know the Slash can be upgraded to handle what I do with them, and, I had really bad luck with my V1 Senton breaking in the cold a lot, but, who knows how much things have changed the last couple years. I have zero experience with the Pro4 though.

Yep, yes is the only answer. 🤓

Ill make a suggestion, I highly doubt a 4x4 SCT would be good for the snow. Look at a xmaxx or kraton for that. And invest in some paddle tires.

Or a TRX4 with the Traxx system, that would be super pretty and nice, but your kind of more of a basher speed type guy.

Been a while since we seen ya. Whats happening? Anything new?

If you still want a sct, get the new sct410 2.0 .

The thing with short course trucks is yes they are fun, look good, and realistic (kind of), but due to them being the chassis compact and tight, and closed wheel, debris gets kicked up by the tires, hits the body and goes into the chassis, which gets hard to clean sometimes depending on the car. Its not like a open wheel car like a truck or buggy. You can always eliminate that with like a chassis shroud or those plastic fender protector things.

Some other suggestions, the new Big Rock 6S? Or new Mojave 4S? - I was looking at the 4wd Senton BLX and 4wd Vortexs BLX on AMain for Black Friday / Cyber Monday - 40 bucks off. Not sure if those sales are still going on.

Last edited:
I haven't run my Slash in the extreme cold, but I too had a bad experience with the Senton.