Xray XT8 2009 or 808 2010?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

someguy1135

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
First I must admit that I am completely new to RC cars and trucks. The last RC car I drove was battery powered car that went about 3 mph. That was over 20 years ago...

Anyways, I have recently become very interested in getting a truggy and have spent hours on the net watching videos, reading forum threads and visiting company websites. I had my heart set on the Xray XT8 2009 spec and then I ran into the 808 2010 spec. I was wondering if anyone knows if there are any significant differences between the two? I read all the stuff on the web site but, like I said, I'm a total noob here and most of it was like "blah blah blah, flux capacitor, blah, blah.

I noticed that they are priced about the same and are probably very similar in quality and performance. However, they have different names so they must be different build wise right? I'm just trying to get informed and make the right choice. Thanks in advance for helping me get my feet wet.

Well the XT8 is a Truggy and the 808 is a Buggy...that would be the major difference ;-)

I actually run an XT8 original spec, and an 808 09 Spec at the moment. Love em both.

If you have never been in the world of Hobby grade RC Cars, going to the top of the line stuff like XRay can be both a blessing and a curse to be perfectly honest with you. They are GREAT cars, and the builds are often uneventful. Parts just fit together like a glove 99% of the time with XRay. The vehicles will hold up better than most on the market in this day and age due to the quality, fit, and finish that is XRay. Mugen does come in a VERY close second place though in my opinion.

Now for the downside....