What engine is this?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Djpohl14

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new here, I'm also new to this hobby, I recently got two used Traxxas T-maxx trucks and the guy I bought them from had bought an .25 hpi big block engine but hadn't installed it. I have looked around but had been unable to find one that looks like this? Also is it a good engine/ worth installing or should I leave in the trx2.5R that's in it?

image.jpg
image.jpg

Welcome to RC Talk, DJ! These guys are pretty good at identifying old and obscure items, and should be along to help.

that is an old HPI nitro star S 25 that came out of the savage 25, it has an aftermarket head (looks awesome on that block) i have one sitting on my bench lol, (stock head though)

sadly that wont fit your T-Maxx as your T-Maxx with the 2.5R is a small block and that HPI .25 is a big block.

personally i loved my S 25, but it needs a new sleeve/piston or needs to get pinched.

that is an old HPI nitro star S 25 that came out of the savage 25, it has an aftermarket head (looks awesome on that block) i have one sitting on my bench lol, (stock head though)

sadly that wont fit your T-Maxx as your T-Maxx with the 2.5R is a small block and that HPI .25 is a big block.

personally i loved my S 25, but it needs a new sleeve/piston or needs to get pinched.
That HPI S25 suited my Monster GT very well when i had it in it. once one of my current engines go out, I'm planning on rebuilding it and putting it back in there.

So he also gave me a big block conversion kit traxxas part number 5360X. I'm just wondering if it is worth it, is the engine much more powerful than the 2.5R?