Track Cleaning/Grooming

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KryptoRoxx

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Didn't know where to post this but since I run Nitro I posted it here. I found a couple of tracks by where I live in Japan and the Off-road one is in need of repair and TLC. Since I'm a complete noob to the sport I was wondering if there were any tips to grooming a track and bringing it back from the dead. Apparently here in Japan the on-road scene is HUGE with drifting and off-road seems to be collecting dust.....although plenty of them watch me when I drive...go figure. Anyway I included some pics of the track I took off my phone to give you guys an idea of what I'm working with. The track surface is a basically a fine steam gravel with packed clay underneath. Parts of the track are well overgrown but redeemable.

imag0070m.th.jpg

imag0069i.th.jpg

imag0068e.th.jpg

I didn't realize that the details would be so crappy so here's a basic word layout. If you start by the racer's stand there's a long right and then a hard u turn to a short left to a big jump. After the big jump it S-turns to the far straighaway and a long right turn around the outside of the track. Then it u-turns after a couple of humpdy dumpys and u turns again sharply into a bigger set of whoopdies and then you take a left and it takes you back to the racer's stand.

I would love to ask permission to groom the track but it's a completely public park that no one really owns. I don't want to modify the track layout I just want to make it usable again. What I plan to do is get a weed wacker and a rake and basically mow the track so that I'm not getting grass wrapped up in my driveshafts anymore. Are there any other things I should consider taking with me?