The planned Takeoff, Climb, Approach & Landing

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

• Yaaaawn, REVOME, Shut Up, Nobody Cares!

Votes: 2 28.6%
  • Ok on Stalls & Spins

Votes: 5 71.4%
  • Different Topic (please discribe) on Airplanes

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RevoME

RCTalk Addict
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi Folks,

while I claim to be trying to contribute at least something useful to this great community, at least every once in a while, I thought of a "refresher" on Approach & Landing procedures with fixed wing aircraft. This should help the newcomer or person trying to get back into the game after the long winter months and should not be limited to any amount of channels.

I'm a Set-Up Pilot.
Means every reaction I want to see from my airplane is the result of prior action from my side. Consistently doing the same thing while flying is crucial and once I had transferred what I learned flying real airplanes to models I got better results all of the time. Being ahead of your plane will help you control, rather than "react".

I'd like to start with a proper takeoff/ launch procedure, which is the second most dangerous situation you will encounter with your aircraft.

Preflight Check:

Rudder, Aileron, Elevator, Throttle, all moving free (!!) and in the proper direction. Engine or Motor have seen one complete cycle of operation and perform well without cut outs or sudden loss of power on electric models.

Surface is flat, clear & free of neighbors house and you have 3-600 ft in any direction of flight. Winddirection & speed checked.

Takeoff & Climb