Suggestions for Buying New Buggy

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phillikw

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
So here is the deal guys. I am new to Nitro and just started my rc hobby again. I used to have an electric stadium truck back in the day, but it was never as fast or durable as I need. About 2 months ago I finally broke down and bought a T-Maxx 2.5R. Since buying the thing I have upgraded almost half of it already. Thus I am spending doulbe the $$$ to build a basher. (Not what I had in mind)

With this being said, I was on a long business trip and the buggy bug bite me hard. I want to eventually race this car, but don't want to buy a kit that I am only going to have to upgrade later (aka right away).

I am looking for manufactors to base my build off of. So, I am asking you guys what buggies are the best (meaning durable, agile, and fast). I would also like a buggy where I can buy parts like the RPM arms for my T-Maxx. I don't know if a company does that, but that is why I am asking.

Fill me in on the buggy scene. Thanks in advance guys!!!!!!

Most of the high end kits such as the Xray XB8 and Mugen MBX5R are race ready out of the box without the need for upgrades. You choose your engine/pipe and electronics. What is your budget? We can help you choose something that falls within your price range. Also check to see what your local hobby shop (LHS) carries. It's always nice to have a local source for parts.

Price range, hahahahahaha. I thought I had a price range for my T-Maxx, but I just keep adding to it. I guess I would like to stay around 500-700. Would it be cheaper if I just built from scratch, that way I could add exactly what I want? Or another way of asking the question, What do I need to be competitive?