Spektrum smart lipo question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rcbob0317

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi,
I just purchased a Spektrum smart charger (S 2100) and 2 - 4s 2200mAh smart lipos (SPMX22004s30). When I connect the lipos to the charger, it says that the balance lead is not detected. I have tried every orientation of plugging it in with the same message appearing each time. I also notice that when I plug the balance lead into a cell checker, the screen is blank. My bottom line question is: what is the purpose of the balance lead if I can't use it to charge on my smart charger, and can't use it to check the cells in the pack. I noticed that the G2 version of the same pack doesn't have a balance lead at all. This is my first attempt at using the smart technology, but I'm not new to electric power, so excuse me if I'm missing something simple.
Thanks!

I've seen the same complaint about that charger and the 4 cells id contact Spektrum will your issue,,

I just tried a balance charge on a non-smart charger, and all 4 cells are showing, so the balance lead seems to be working properly. I sent an email to Spektrum, so I'm waiting to hear what they have to say.....

to me id say its a factory defect in charger..I have zero faith in Spektrum even back when they took over JR..

Smart technology doesn't seem to be a smart choice lately. Been more and more problems popping up. Could just be the law of averages but as everything else in life, if you take the easy route, it never seems so easy when your done.

Ok, here's a weird update.....I plugged both smart lipos into a non-smart charger again, and I got a under voltage message on both of them