Slash 4x4 battery advice please

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

battledonkey

RCTalk Racer
Supporter
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I ordered a Slash 4x4 to play with my daughter and her ECX Torment brushed. Yes I realize the Slash is gonna be way faster no matter what but she's 9. If she really falls in love with playing on the track and wants to follow through with racing then sure I'll get her a faster truck later.

I'm still a rookie with the nitro side of RC but I'm learning and growing quickly. With electric, I'm really really lost. I've been researching every chance I get and I feel like I'm comfortable enough with all the LiPo options and I can read and learn anything I don't know. But does anyone with experience with the Slash have any advice as far as would I be better off just getting some 2S batteries or get 3S and drop the pinion to 11T to keep motor and ESC temps down? I don't need the truck to do 50-60mph. Ever. Lol. I'm more interested in "trackability" and "bashability" as I want to at least play on the track and who knows, maybe do some light racing later. Obviously, I don't know what racing regulations are and if that would limit battery choice either. I see the truck being 80% bash and 20% track playing. Work doesn't always leave me enough time to make the 40 minute trip to the track. I'm more interested in the raw punch. Having the truck slide around real easy on the pavement or off. I'm a wheelie kind of guy with ATVs, dirt bikes, and all my power hobbies. I'd rather be able to torque the front end up than go fast and the only thing I like more than wheelies is mud. I realize the Slash isn't built to wheelie so if it doesn't I'm not gonna be broken hearted. I just want the torquey punch off the line to go sliding all over.