RC Car Physics

• Thread starter Penguin Fart Racing
  • Start date

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Penguin Fart Racing

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
  2. Crawling
  3. Flying
  4. Boating
Hello All,

As a retired sciences teacher, I am interested in somewhat odd stuff; hence some Squidgy queries and musings. Does anyone have hands-on with the DYNAMOMETERS from https://www.minipro.com or https://www.mcpappyracing.com . How would you run these tools in a WIND-TUNNEL specifically for ON-ROAD high speed RC cars ? Does data from full-sized cars effectively translate to RC cars ? Is there anyone who has tinkered with servo-activated microprocessor controlled front air dams and rear spoilers that used NACA airfoil shapes ? Any info on software, sensors and interfaces to measure and actually calculate aerodynamic parameters for designing car bodies would be appreciated :). Would it be possible to differentially wind suspension shock springs using microprocessor guided memory wire ? Direct synaptic control feeding to a hacked RC transmitter would sure be interesting. Sorry for being WAY-OUT-THERE. Must all be due to CABIN FEVER precipitated by very cold weather and COVID isolation :-[

Hello Penguin and Welcome!

Physics is physics and it still applies no matter the scale. This is empirically this is shown with the RC Planes. They fly like the full scale thing.

Physically, the things that are different, or even weird is the scale and the way materials react.

For instance tires. If you take a 1/10 scale car going 50 MPH it scales to 500 MPH. The "normal" stuff we do on our daily driver doesn't work. This is what your tires look like at full throttle. In this case it's like rock crawling on nobby wrinkle wall drag slicks.