Noob help 120k RPM BLDC 4Kw

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wyattski

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to BLDC and I think I'm at the right place. I am looking for a BLDC RC motor capable of 120k rpm (or more) and 4000 watts (about 5hp). I get Kv but I can't always find the voltage rating on the motors. Anyone that could suggest a motor capable of my specs please post! it would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Wyatt

desired voltage.? Or what are you using as supply voltage?

I'm gue
desired voltage.? Or what are you using as supply voltage?
I'm guessing 48-50V? I mean, I don't really care. I would be using RC batteries and or building a capacitor bank. Have you ever heard of TP power motors?

thanks for your help!

48 to 50.. i think you better do some self education...heres a hint lipos are 4.2 volts fully charged some high voltage go up to 4.35 volts..
http://poseidonrc.com/brushless-motor.html
Thanks, you tell me what Volts! your link, those motors are good wattage, but I need to make at least 110k rpm max, and 90k-100k rpm sustained. If you have anything up your sleeve for that RPM range whilst keeping a decent amount of watts. Thanks Again!

I think your need of 100,000 rpm is a pipe dream. I don't think there is a rotating mass on earth that can hit 100k rpm. Maybe I am wrong but even a turbine doesn't run that level of rpm. Too much inertia, and things fly apart. As I am typing this I actually googled it and Dyson apparently has the worlds fastest motor at 104k rpm but it will not have the horsepower you need. That is why they make turbo's and superchargers. There is also electric unit's and maybe you should be looking into their mechanics if you want to build your own. Not trying to discourage you, just stating the facts.