Newbie with Tamiya DT-03 Racing Fighter Hop Up

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChuChu

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hi,

I decided to create this topic, because I still have too many questions and do not want to create more and more topics...

I am total newbie but with some mechanical knowledge and skills, mainly from cycling. I spent last 9 years on stripping down every bike part to undestand how it works.

I started with Racing Fighter kit but read a lot and decided to go with some Hop Ups. I have luck that Tamiya distributor in my country has shop 10 minutes from my home.

Kit was supplied with Torque Tuned engine, CVA dampers and ESC. I bought:

- Aluminium Bridges
- Sway Bars
- Aluminium Servo Mount
- High Torque Servo Saver
- Ball Bearings ( Tamiya + 1$ generic)
- CVA dampers... Shop told me that there are friction shock in kit, so I bought CVA...
- Hard suspension oil
- Aluminium Cover for Servo Saver
- Aluminium M4 wheels bolts
- Aluminium M3 for Servo Saver
- 12 Aluminium Hex for rear wheels
- 0.1 0.2 0.3 0.5 shims

Some of them just for "bling", some because I read a lot reccomendations.

Today I ordered light gearbox shaft but I will install them next time. I do not want to strip down gearbox again.

Progress photos:

IMG_20230226_183923436_HDR.jpg

Shims in suspension. I tried to leave around 0.1 mm of play. I used wax on shafts to reduce friction. All parts are sanded down on contact surfaces.
IMG_20230226_183935161_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230226_184128863_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230226_190127620_HDR.jpg

Plan is to buy all Hop Ups I want to install them now and not to disassembly model each month to put something new.