Newbie with Monster GT transmission issue

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brianinstlou

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi all!
Newbie here. New to RC.
I have a stock Monster GT with the 4.6 engine. Bought it new and have had for a year or so. I have finally got it running pretty good. Although I still need to do some tweaking with the HSN and LSN the truck does run pretty good.
The issue I have is about 50% of the time, when I give the truck full throttle, it seems as if the gears are stripped. Today I was driving/adjusting the truck and I clearly heard the engine rev and the wheels not spin for a second. Almost as if it is slipping out of gear. Other times, the truck blasts off like crazy. I have tightend the slipper clutch and dont know what else to do. I have not yet disassembled the transmission to do a visual on the gears to see if something is stripped.
I know the shift point from 1st to 2nd can be adjusted, I am wonder if there is an adjustment needed from "neutral" to first?
Now that I think about it, I believe I have the same issue once shifted into reverse.

Any ideas from the pro's would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Well while I wouldnt call myself a pro, I too have a 4.6 and had similar problems with the tranny. I ended up shearing a pin on the 2 speed shaft that would not allow the gears to engage. Its a cheap fix but does involve splitting the cases of the tranny. I suppose pro is close as I ended up replacing the pin several times and have the teardown and reassemble down to about 15minutes start to finish! Love this truck now that I have all the bugs worked out of it!!!

Last edited:
Thanks for the tip Phins!> If I don't figure something out, I guess I'll be splitting the case.