newbie here, RS4 questions, etc....

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ryboj

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Ok, I bought a new RTR dominator .21 8 port the other day for the local track, but they don't allow 1/8 nitro. So that's going bye bye. :nono:

Anyhow, I can still have fun on the street.....because at my parents house I have a 2.5 year old? RS4 Nitro Rally 4WD belt driven .15FE with an Airtronics controller, and it was NOT RTR.

Can anyone tell me what model it is exactly? I don't have the car in front of me to know.

It was barely broken in, and then it's been sitting ever since, so just over 2 years sitting. I did buy the HPI 2-speed tranny, and that was it.

However, we all know how "entry level" the .15FE is.

I've been reading some posts here, and it seems, for the money, to get the most reliability and performance, O.S engines do the trick. I realize there are some powerhouses out there like the NR's etc, but they are costly to buy.

How much engine can my 4wd RS4 2-speed tranny car handle in it's current condition? Can I just add an engine and leave it alone and be happy?

OR...

If I do upgrade the engine to a fast .12 or some .15/.16 or something, what parts need to be upgraded? How much on avg are these parts if I needed all of them?

I'm basically trying to figure out how much it's going to cost to get my car up to speed, no pun intended, and I will not be racing it, just doing stuff out in front of my house, etc. Looking for the best bang for the buck in terms of engine. Reliable, easy to tune, start and good power.

Let me know what you guys think! Thx!
:banana: