Newbie here - recommendation for truck under $350

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiStro

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to get back into RCs after a 6 year vacation that saw me sell off my MERV. I have a pretty strict budget of 350, and that is the top end of what I want to spend. My general use will be a mix of pavement, grass, and snow in the winter. Ride in my cul-de-sac, so don't need the fastest speed out there, but want it to be fun.

Through initial research, I've come up with the following choices: Arrma Granite 4x4, Arrma Granite BLX, Redcat Volcano EPX Pro, Redcat Blackout XBE Pro

I'm certainly open to other suggestions. I think I'd probably prioritize 4WD over being brushless because of my snow usage, but could be convinced otherwise.

Thanks in advance!!!

Thanks for the recommendation. Is there a big difference in performance between the Senton and the Granite in the same class?
The Senton is easier to drive and will be more stable, better on a track.
The Granite is better for bashing, wheelies and stunts.?

@MiStro the Arrma Senton and Granite 4x4's are essentially the same truck with different bodies so I'd pick the one with the body you like most. That said the Arrma 4x4 mega's are actually pretty awesome trucks like @Kris407 has mentioned and there have been a number of people who have transformed them into something even more powerful such as this build.

Another model to consider would be the Traxxas Stampede 4x4, it's going to run a bit more than the Arrma's but you may find parts a bit easier at your local hobby shop (if you have one).